Call For Nominations For Dean’s Distinguished Faculty Scholar 2018

Please note updated submission deadline


Call for nominations- Deadline extended to Friday, January 25th.


The Dean’s Distinguished Lecture Committee solicits your nomination of UAMS faculty members to serve as the Distinguished Faculty Scholar for 2018. This is one of the highest honors the College of Medicine confers upon a faculty member.  Since we receive nominations for many deserving faculty each year, we encourage you to re-nominate candidates who were not selected but are deserving of this honor.  Previous honorees are listed below.


To nominate a faculty member:


  1.  The nominee may be either a clinical or basic science faculty member in the College of Medicine
  2.  Submit their CV and letters of support (total 2-3 letters required)
  3.  Include in your nomination letter comments concerning how they have distinguished themselves and advanced the missions (research, teaching and service) of the COM and UAMS.
  4.  Send the nomination materials electronically to Kahla Robinson (, preferably as a single PDF.
  5.  Deadline for submission of all materials is Friday, January 25, 2019 .


Past recipients of the Dean’s Distinguished Faculty Lectureship Award:


1993-1994  Donald E. McMillan, Ph.D.

1994-1995  Joseph H. Bates, M.D.

1995-1996  Bart Barlogie, M.D., Ph.D.

1996-1997  Alan Elbein, Ph.D.

1997-1998  Thomas E. Andreoli, M.D., Ph.D.

1998-1999  M. Gazi Yasargil, M.D.

1999-2000  Sue Griffin, Ph.D.

2000-2001  Stavros Manolagas, M.D., Ph.D.

2001-2002  Wesley Burks, M.D.

2002-2003  Sudhir Shah, M.D.

2003-2004  Aubrey Hough Jr., M.D.

2004-2005  Edgar Garcia-Rill, Ph.D.

2005-2006  James Suen, M.D.

2006-2007  Ernest Ferris, M.D.

2007-2008  Charlotte Hobbs, M.D., Ph.D.

2008-2009  Warren Bickel, Ph.D.

2009-2010  Thomas Badger, Ph.D.

2010-2011  James Marsh, M.D.

2011-2012  S. Michael Owens, Ph.D.

2012-2013  Mark S. Smeltzer, Ph.D.

2013-2014  Donald M. Mock, M.D., Ph.D.

2014-2015  Jawahar (Jay) L. Mehta, M.D., Ph.D.

2015-2016  Jeanne Wei, M.D., Ph.D.


Thank you for your consideration.




Kevin D. Raney, Ph.D.

Chair, Dean’s Distinguished Lecture Committee

Professor and Chair

Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, UAMS

Tel. 501-686-5244