New Faculty Reception


From left to right: New faculty member Dr. Nadia Lalla, Associate Provost for Library and Student Services talks with Dr. Donna Middaugh, Associate Dean for the College of Nursing

Faculty members who recently joined UAMS received a warm welcome from department chairs, colleagues and many leaders at the New Faculty Reception on September 29. Not only did new faculty enjoy mingling with peers over food and beverages, they also received valuable information from this year’s sponsors Little Rock Athletic Club and The Janet Jones Company.


From right to left: Assistant Professor Ryan Pritchard, Pharm.D.; Assistant Professor Kaci Thiessen, Pharm.D; Assistant Professor Megan Smith, Pharm.D., all members of the College of Pharmacy.

UAMS Chancellor Dr. Dan Rahn and Associate Provost for Faculty and COM Associate Dean Dr. Jeannette Shorey II highlighted the mission and vision of UAMS, while also informing new faculty about its culture which Dr. Shorey states is that of “collegiality” and she believes it holds a “value that cannot be overstated.”

This is the first year that the Faculty Center hosted the New Faculty Reception for all colleges at UAMS. Dr. Douglas Murphy, Dean of the College of Health Profession gave his praises in regards to the once College of Medicine focused event, declaring that he is pleased to see that “Academic Affairs is including all faculty in services and events; it sends the message that [ALL] faculty are part of the UAMS mission.”

The Faculty Center hosts the popular New Faculty Reception yearly.